We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

How to avoid the queues... Vatican, major sites

Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
3,565 posts
19 reviews
Save Topic
How to avoid the queues... Vatican, major sites

Hello... Any sneeky suggestions on how to avoid the massive queues for a Vatican visit i.e St Peters. I believe going thru a prebooked tour would be the way to go? But which one? Also I remember from when I was a teenager that you could buy colosseum tickets around the corner at a 'kiosk' and avoid the queues at the site itself... does this still exist and where is it? Any advice re these matters would be fantastic... A little queueing is expected but I am not a professional at this like the experts from sunny Britain...

Cheers

pittsburgh
Destination Expert
for Rome
Level Contributor
33,658 posts
16 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: How to avoid the queues... Vatican, major sites

Hello,

You can buy tickets to the colosseum at the palatine hill entrance and skip the line at the colosseum. The forum is now a part of the combo and you get 2 days to see all three sites.

As for the vatican. You can prepurchase tickets or a tour at:

biglietteriamusei.vatican.va/tickets/do…

This is the vatican website and will allow you to bypass the lines. There is a 4 euro fee for tickets purchased online. You will still have to go through the metal detector but you will bypass the majority of the line. If you do the museums first you will skip the security line for the basilica as you can exit the museums into the basilica. If you see the basilica first you will have to wait in the security line.

These are the only 2 sites that usually have a line. You should be fine at the other sites.

Donna

St Paul, MN
Level Contributor
20,839 posts
6 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: How to avoid the queues... Vatican, major sites