We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

IPAD internet connection

Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
12 posts
144 reviews
Save Topic
IPAD internet connection

I have brought a new ipad to take to europe. can you tell me how do I buy a phone/internet card in europe so that I can get on the internet through my ipad? Does one card do most of europe or do I have to buy a new card in each country? We are travelling to Switzerland, italy and turkey. Would very much appreciate any help as I am not good with I.T. thanks you.

Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
248 posts
67 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: IPAD internet connection

I bought a prepaid micro-SIM card for my iPad at a TIM store in Milan, it was 10 Euros for the card and 9 Euros for 2 GB of data. They pre-activated the card and it worked fine as soon as I installed it. It did not work outside of Italy, but I think you can get different plans which do. If you are going to be in the other countries for very long, it might be worthwhile to buy other SIM cards there.

A tip: if you don't have the SIM card tool that came with the iPad, bring a paper clip along to open the little drawer. You might want to practice this at home so you don't send a micro-SIM card flying across a hotel room. Don't ask me how I know...

Grande Prairie
Level Contributor
1 post
8 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: IPAD internet connection

There does not seem to be good solutions that work in more than one Country. We puchased a micro sim card with Orange when in France and with Vodafone when in Italy.