We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Alcohol in public?

Minneapolis...
Level Contributor
54 posts
135 reviews
Save Topic
Alcohol in public?

Is it lawful to open and consume alcohol in public places in Italy? Can I open a bottle of wine or beer in a park or town square and lawfully consume it with a picnic lunch?

As a lawyer I am hesitant to give legal advice myself but I have not been able to find an answer to this elsewhere.

Mentioned in this post
Italy
Italy
Europe
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
293 posts
Save Reply
1. Re: Alcohol in public?

Yes you can drink wine or beer in a park.

You cant get drunk or bother other people when you are drunk !

But im sure you won't !

enjoy your staying in italy !

pincopallo_it@yahoo.it

Montreal
Level Contributor
17,790 posts
Save Reply
2. Re: Alcohol in public?

There's your answer from an Italian.

But be aware that there are sometimes wheels within wheels. Rome periodically bans the sale of alcohol after a certain hour in other than licensed premises in an effort to cut down on binge drinking in a few places that have become notorious for it. Rome also periodically bans the consumption of food and alcohol in, on or near public monuments. Venice has had a ban for some time on the consumption of food and alcohol except in parks; it is strictly enforced in St. Mark's Square and not very strictly enforced in other places in Venice.

So while it is lawful to open and consume alcohol in public places in Italy, local bylaws sometimes try to prevent it from getting out of hand. You'd always be safe to have wine with your picnic in a park; it would be less safe to assume that you could do so in any given piazza.

Mentioned in this post
Rome
Rome
Lazio, Italy
Venice
Venice
City of Venice, Italy
St. Mark's Square
St. Mark's Square
31,067 Reviews
Venice, Italy