The Town Hall is located at the Plaza Consistorial. Before 1423 Pamplona did not exist. Later Carlos III of Navarra joined three small towns with the names of Navarrería, San Cernin and San Nicolas, and gave the new town the name of Pamplona. There would be only one town hall for the three. The original Town Hall building was demolished in 1753 and a new one was constructed under the direction of the architect Juan Miguel Goyeneta and a Rococo façade was created by Jose Zay y Lorda in 1755. The top of the façade was changed a year later by Juan Lorenzo Catalan. In 1951 all of the building was destroyed to construct new offices. Only the façade of 1755 was saved. The new architect was Jose Yarnoz Orcoyen. The lower three floors of the building have the Baroque style, but the top portion is Neoclassic in style. There is a clock at the very top. The façade has balconies of wrought iron. The three lower floors have classic columns that use the Doric, Ionic, and Corinthian designs. Beside the main door there are sculptures of Prudence and Justice. At the top of the building are statues of Hercules and Fame. Every year at the start of the San Fermin festival on July 6, the traditional “chupinazo” rocket is lighted from the balcony at noon.