We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Changing planes in Madrid, is 5 hrs. enough for Palace Real?

Which Madrid hotels are on sale?
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
See hotels
Dallas, TX
2 posts
1 review
Save Topic
Changing planes in Madrid, is 5 hrs. enough for Palace Real?

Hi! I am arriving at the Madrid airport terminal 4S at 9:55 am and departing for Venice at 16:10pm from the same terminal. I woud appreciate your advice in deciding if I should go to visit the city. primarily Palace Real or not? If so what would be the best way to get there? Should I worry about clearing security and are there long lines? This is my first time to travel this route and would love to take advantage of the few hours I have in Madrid. Thanks in advance for your input!!!

Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
9,278 posts
15 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Changing planes in Madrid, is 5 hrs. enough for Palace Real?

You will need to claim and recheck your luggage before clearing customs and passport control upon arrival. Depending on how many other flights are landing at the same time, this could easily take up to an hour, 40 minutes if you are very lucky, longer if you are not.

If you will already have your boarding pass for the connecting flight to Venice, and just need to clear security, then you should plan on being back at the airport no later than 14:30. Most gates close at least 20 minutes before departure, but you need to check when your flight will start boarding and from which gate.

T4 is a large terminal. A very long one, and you'll have to take the rail link to T4S if your flight is actually leaving from there instead of from T4.