We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Driving from Madrid to Barcelona

San Francisco, CA
1 post
Driving from Madrid to Barcelona

I'm planning 2 nights in Madrid and then driving directly to 2 nights in Barcelona. I was wondering, how long does the drive take? And is it ok to make the drive overnight?

This is my first time in Spain.

Also, Una, I understand that you are a travel agent in Madrid. I need to make some flight arrangements while I'm in Madrid -- is it possible for you to email me your office info? I'm tristan091 (at) yahoo (dot) com -- thank you!

Altea, Spain
Level Contributor
131 posts
1 review
1. Re: Driving from Madrid to Barcelona

The drive should take about 6 hours, and it is a major highway route

Phx. AZ
2 posts
2. Re: Driving from Madrid to Barcelona

When is the best time/season to go to Spain, east or west coast,which is best?

Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
9,278 posts
14 reviews
3. Re: Driving from Madrid to Barcelona

The driving distance from Madrid to Barcelona is approximately 4-1/2 to 5 hours, unless you stop for lunch along the way, which I suggest. You follow the NII/E90 out of Madrid to Zaragoza before taking the A2/E90 to Lleida and finally into Barcelona. You'd be advised to purchase the Michelin Regional Map #572 which covers this are in detail. I don't think you'll need a map of the Madrid area unless you plan on spending more time in the area. You should be able to get by with what they give you at the rental agency.

You can check on flights at the following web sites for Spanair and Iberia. Make sure you register on-line and you'll receive their best discounted rates.

http://www.spanair.com/es/

http://www.iberia.com/OneToOne/gateway_es.jsp

Somewhere
5 posts
4. Re: Driving from Madrid to Barcelona