We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

First trip to Spain - where to start?

Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
3,103 posts
101 reviews
Save Topic
First trip to Spain - where to start?

Planning my first trip to spain, will be traveling with my nephew next summer. I don't know where to start, so I'm hoping you can give me Barcelona in a nutshell.

We are planning on mid-June to mid-July, probably 8-12 days in all. We are planning to spend four nights in Barcelona - is this just right, to much, or not enough?

Looking at hotels, I've been finding that earlier July is cheaper at some. I am looking for a five-star hotel in a central location where we can walk to most tourist locations. I have been looking at the Palace Hotel and Hotel Arts Barcelona. Any advice on either? I am just beginning to look, so if there are any other five-star hotels in a better location that you would recommend, please let me know!

I would also love your suggestions on things to do with my nephew (he will be 18) and restaurants that you would recommend. He is studying his fifth year of Spanish, and my graduation gift for him is a trip to Spain, since he is fluent in spanish and can serve me well as a translator. I am hoping to get a local feel for most places we visit, while still seeing the tourist "must-sees"

Another side question - we are thinking of driving from Granada to Barcelona by means of a rental car...would you suggest stopping in Valencia to break up the travel and take a more scenic route rather than mainland? Or is there good public transportation between the two? We are looking to fly into Madrid, go to Granada, maybe then Valencia, then Barcelona, then back to Madrid to fly out (spending a few days in Madrid, of course, as well).

Any and all advice is appreciated! Thank you so much!

Aerobus