We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Neuschwanstein

Which Fussen hotels are on sale?
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
See hotels
Malaysia
Level Contributor
46 posts
Save Topic
Neuschwanstein

Hi

I'll be visiting Neuschwanstein after my salzburg trip. Am wondering whether to stay in Fussen, Munich or somewhere near the castle. As I am a student travelling on tight budget, a hostel(cheapest possible accommodation) is most prefered. Can anyone enlighten me on that?

I'll have 2 nights in germany before flying back to london from munich, any suggestion where else I can go presuming a day is already dedicated for Neuschwanstein.

thanks

Las Vegas, Nevada
Destination Expert
for Stuttgart, Baden-Wurttemberg
Level Contributor
14,337 posts
53 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Neuschwanstein

I personally would stay near the castle where you can enjoy the magnificent views of it. It is lit-up at night. I think that it should be slowly savored and not just dashed through. We usually stay at a fairly expensive hotel there with wonderful views, so I can't help you out with inexpensive accomodations.

If you're not travelling in the summer, you might like the well preserved walled town of Rothenburg ob der Tauber (both it and Neuschwanstein can be jam-packed with tourists), or perhaps Lindau on the Bodensee (Lake Constance).

Baden-Baden, Germany
Level Contributor
60 posts
272 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: Neuschwanstein

For backpacker tours in Germany go to http://www.backpackertours.com they arrange tours to Neuschwanstein from Munich. You may also go to Füssen by train which is very close to Neuschwanstein. The Wieskirche is nearby as well as Linderhof castle. Many tours leave from Munich.

Gambrills, MD
Destination Expert
for Fussen
Level Contributor
2,976 posts
137 reviews
Save Reply
3. Re: Neuschwanstein