We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

honest advice

london
Level Contributor
48 posts
3 reviews
Save Topic
honest advice

Hi all!

I am planning to stay in france for a month but am really not sure where to go since I am new to france and wouldnt mind just anywhere.

I am considering Toulouse, Paris, and Lyon at the moment. My only concern about Paris is that it might be too crowded over the summer with all the tourists flooded in. I want to experience a genuine french culture and want to stay in big-medium towns where there are loads of things to do like concerts, festivals and activities after class. It'd be nice to be able to make short weekend trips to the nearby towns too so it's also a matter of convinience.

Paris isn't so bad but it's probably gonna be very pricy. So really it's kind of down to Lyon and Toulouse now. Thing is I've been to Lyon twice and never Toulouse. But then it'd be difficult to get out of Toulouse to Paris given it's a 5 hour ride journey and the train fare is expensive. Give advice please!

Anacortes...
Level Contributor
2,797 posts
44 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: honest advice

Why ask for "honest" advice? Do you really assume that those on this Forum would give you "dishonest" advice?

:-(

london
Level Contributor
48 posts
3 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: honest advice

not dishonest, but sometimes you can be biased if you are from the town yourself. What makes you think I'd come here to get dishonest advice?

Lyon, France
Destination Expert
for Lyon
Level Contributor
3,781 posts
36 reviews
Save Reply
3. Re: honest advice

Hi Kangel, I suggest that you have a look on my previous posts about Lyon, but won't add anything that could be considered as dishonest... You can get your own opinion while browsing a few websites.

For Lyon : http://www.en.lyon-france.com/