We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Formula 1 Race

New York
5 posts
1 review
Save Topic
Formula 1 Race

I am planning to go to the Monaco Grand Prix in May. What is the best way to get there from Nice? I am also an amateur photographer........where can I capture the essence of Nice (People and Landscape)???

Monaco
Level Contributor
1,280 posts
Save Reply
1. Re: Formula 1 Race

The best way to travel between Nice and Monaco during Grand Prix is by train. There are signs once you get to the station in Monaco telling you which exit to use for your grandstand.

For the "essence" of Nice, I'd try the market Liberation up avenue Malaussena - much more about the local Nicois people than the tourist one in the Cours Saleya. I'd also go up to Castle Hill where local mothers and children play in the park. I'd also take a look behind the Notre Dame cathedral on a sunny evening when the local North African male community gather to pass the time of day.

For landscape, the old town, Place Massena, Place Garibaldi, the port, views from Mont Boron, Cimiez and Castle Hill.

Nice, France
Destination Expert
for Nice, Eze, Monaco
Level Contributor
1,777 posts
52 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: Formula 1 Race

yes, I confirm, go by train

but everybody go by train ::)) = sometimes, you will not arrive to catch the first train, to much people...

except if you go early and do not come back just after the end of race (ex : the race finishes at 4.30pm, it's crazy until 6.30pm at monaco train station)

New York
5 posts
1 review
Save Reply
3. Re: Formula 1 Race

Thanks! I appreciate the information. It will help me out a lot.

4. Re: Formula 1 Race

-:- Message from TripAdvisor staff -:-