We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

A chinese girl to Aix--safe?

Which Aix-en-Provence hotels are on sale?
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
See hotels
Hong Kong, China
3 posts
Save Topic
A chinese girl to Aix--safe?

Hi all,

I come from Hong kong, would like to go to Aix for a week French course. Since this is my first time to Europe alone, I'm worry about the saftiness of the city. I would like to ask is it safe in general in Aix. Does pickpocketing common? ( I know pickpocketing is very common in Europe ). One more question, how can I go to Cours Mirabeau from TGV of Aix (besides taking taxi) ? Where is the shuttle bus of TGV?

Hope some of you can help me. Thanks a lot!

singapore
Level Contributor
35 posts
36 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: A chinese girl to Aix--safe?

Hi Irene

i was there 2 weeks ago with my husband. i feel that aix is relatively safe, as compared to Paris and Nice. but usually I'll be back at the hotel by 9 pm or so. i think it's quite a nice town. actually, whether you're travelling in europe or asia, you have to practise caution.

we took the shuttle bus from the TGV station. bus service is every 15 or 20 mins. Suggest you ask the TGV staff where to take the bus. It's actually at the ground level and you've to take the elevator. the bus fare is about 3 or 4 euro. it's cheaper than taking cab.

the bus stops at the bus station near cours mirabeau which is the centre of Aix. you just need to do abit of walking. there's a tourist office there as well - you can get all your info from there.

hope the above info helps.

Cincinnati, USA
4 posts
Save Reply
2. Re: A chinese girl to Aix--safe?

Hi!