We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Charles de Gaulle to Le Mans transport

Which Le Mans hotels are on sale?
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
See hotels
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
257 posts
1 review
Save Topic
Charles de Gaulle to Le Mans transport

I am a total novice in Europe, first timer. I am going to an event in Le Mans in October and am looking for the most efficient way of getting from the airport in Paris to Le Mans without driving. Have been raking through fast train sites on the net but can't seem to get very far!

Cheers

Ohio, USA
Level Contributor
19,004 posts
3 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Charles de Gaulle to Le Mans transport

www.tvgv-europe.com is the site you are looking for. I think Australians may have to resort to a small subterfuge on this site to avoid being redirected to RailEurope. You need to select Great Britain as your "home" country. Somebody will correct me if I am wrong about this. There are frequent (about every 30 minutes) TGVs from Montparnasse station in Paris to Le Mans taking just under an hour. There are also occasional trains direct from CDG taking about 40 minutes longer.

You can book up to three months ahead. By booking early you should be able to get discount fares known as PREMs, as low as €17 one way from Paris, somewhat more from CDG. Note that these tickets are of the "no change, no refund" variety.

I would recommend you allow AT LEAST three hours between your arrival and a TGV from CDG, four hours if you need to travel to Paris to take a train from Montparnasse.

Take a look at the timetables and fares on the TGV-europe site and come back if you have more questions, such as how to get to Montparnasse. (There are various ways and the least expensive, by RER/Métro, costs €8.70 one way and would take about an hour.)

Sydney, Australia