We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

3 nights in Normandy going alone or a tour?

Adelaide, South...
Level Contributor
16 posts
1 review
Save Topic
3 nights in Normandy going alone or a tour?

Hello,

I'm planning to go to Normandy for 3 days around 2nd week of Dec. I'm hoping to stay in Beauyx as my base.

Day 1- Museum and Tapistry & walk

Day 2: D-Day tours

Day 3 - Mont St M

As i'm going alone and this is my first time in France, should i go on a Normandy tour & are they expensive? Or is it easy to navigate around the D Day Tours. There is a Tour from Caen that is about $113 but I think its abit expensive. Any views?

Thank you.

Christine From Adelaide

PS: I dont speak French!! So abit worried abt lost in translation.

Woolwich, Maine
5 posts
Save Reply
1. Re: 3 nights in Normandy going alone or a tour?

Recommend Jules highly. Try ! jules Vernon enquiries@militarymight.co.uk My grandso, daughter, wife anfd I hired Jules for 2 days. Excellent guide and person. He's al;so English but lives in France.

Essex
Level Contributor
28,555 posts
69 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: 3 nights in Normandy going alone or a tour?

Many D-Day guided tour groups leave form Bayeux, see such as Overland Tours which are often mentioned here.

I must admit, though, that I have never partaken of a guided D-Day tour in France yet, just 'know they exist' from the forums here.

Rugger 96 has only ever been on the fourms to recommend this 'jules' so take that as you will.....

The Churchill Hotel in Bayeux runs a shuttle bus every day to Le Mont St Michel. It is only a minibus so takes around 8-12 peeps. You don't have to be staying at the Hotel to make use of it, but if you like the idea, it books up quick so you need to organise yourself well in advance.