We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Passport control when taking Eurostar London to/from Paris?

Philadelphia
Level Contributor
7 posts
38 reviews
Save Topic
Passport control when taking Eurostar London to/from Paris?

I'll be taking Eurostar for the first time on an upcoming trip to London and Paris. I know we have to check in at least 30 minutes prior to departure, but I'm wondering if I need to plan for additional time, either at St. Pancras or upon arrival in Paris, to go thru immigration. I'm not trying to orchestrate split-second timing, just curious to know how this works. (And vice-versa, on the way back to London.)

I'm a US passport holder/US resident.

Thanks for any advice/perspective you can offer!

236 replies to this topic
Sydney, Australia
Destination Expert
for Train Travel
Level Contributor
93,274 posts
14 reviews
Save Reply
81. Re: Passport control when taking Eurostar London to/from Paris?

Yes. You go through both British and French Passport Control at St Pancras.

Paris, France
Level Contributor
25,245 posts
32 reviews
Save Reply
82. Re: Passport control when taking Eurostar London to/from Paris?

Passports are rarely stamped in Europe these days since the electronic trace that you leave is sufficient.

Sydney, Australia
Destination Expert
for Train Travel
Level Contributor
93,274 posts
14 reviews
Save Reply
83. Re: Passport control when taking Eurostar London to/from Paris?

Things must have changed in the past 2 years: I was stamped in and out of Schengen on my last visit in 2012. I will see what happens when I land in Zurich after Easter.

There was a post only a few months ago from someone who struck problems exiting Schengen because there was no entry stamp in her passport.

Mentioned in this post
Zurich
Zurich
Canton of Zurich, Switzerland
Brussels
Level Contributor