We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Winter Travel to Connemara

Ruth, California
2 posts
Save Topic
Winter Travel to Connemara

I want to take my first trip to Ireland this Winter! I keep getting drawn to Connemara. What should I know about traveling there alone as a 23 year old Single Girl during mid December to early January. I really need to know safety concerns, good places to stay on a low budget, things to see and pubs to try! Safety is not too big of a concern because I am a firefighter so I can handle my own but any hints would be nice. Can anyone please help me!

Western Ireland...
Destination Expert
for Southport, Connemara, County Clare, Portumna
Level Contributor
18,911 posts
56 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Winter Travel to Connemara

I would opt for Galway. You have a good range of options in the City (more like a town really) plus you can get out to the Connemara and west Clare areas easily. Dublin is easily accessible on the new M6 or by public transport for a day out if you like. I can not say about the weather although it will not be warm and sunny. Galway is also a University City so there will be plenty going on for 23yr olds. Twixmass (between Christmas and Newyear) can be fairly quiet if you are out of a main location so I would avoid being out somewhere semi rural at that time.

Manchester, United...
Destination Expert
for County Galway
Level Contributor
1,987 posts
8 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: Winter Travel to Connemara