We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Week-long trip based in Cork

Stillwater...
3 posts
Save Topic
Week-long trip based in Cork

I am a 20 year old female student planning a trip to Cork to visit a friend who is studying abroad. I will fly into Dublin on March 3rd and fly out on March 11. I plan on spending 1 or 2 days in Dublin including the night before my departure. During my stay I plan on making trips out of Cork by bus or train to various sites, possibly alone. I would like to keep the trips to a single day because I have free lodging in Cork. With the limited time and money that I have as a college student I am wondering which towns/castles/ruins would be worth it for me to visit as well as any advice for a someone traveling alone for the first time. I am also finding myself confused with train and bus websites so any advice there would be welcome, is it better to buy a pass or buy each ticket as I go?

Mentioned in this post
Cork
Cork
County Cork, Ireland
Dublin
Dublin
County Dublin, Ireland
Nebraska
Level Contributor
516 posts
Save Reply
1. Re: Week-long trip based in Cork