We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

excess insurance for car hire help

Rhode Island
Level Contributor
515 posts
1 review
Save Topic
excess insurance for car hire help

Hi all. I've been trying to navigate the hiring of a car in Dublin when I arrive next week. Our plan was to pick up at the airport when we leave Dublin and return 11 days later. After getting quotes and reading a great many posts on this site and others I had decided that I would hire from Dooley and get excess insurance from insurance4carhire. However when I went to their site it says that their products are only available to people who live in the European Economic area. I am a US resident. Can anyone explain this to me?

Western Ireland...
Destination Expert
for Southport, Connemara, County Clare, Portumna
Level Contributor
19,854 posts
63 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: excess insurance for car hire help

Their web site design is costing them an awful lot of money...As I understand it from long drawn out email conversations their Annual policy is EU only (with exceptions) but their Daily insurance (for as many days as anyone wants) is available to the holder of any valid driving licence issued anywhere in the world. You would have to contact them directly on this.

An option http://www.carhireexcess.com/ or possibly http://questor-insurance.co.uk/

Rhode Island
Level Contributor
515 posts
1 review
Save Reply
2. Re: excess insurance for car hire help