We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Isle of Skye in a day and a half????

Los Angeles...
Level Contributor
55 posts
Save Topic
Isle of Skye in a day and a half????

Hello! I am going with my fiancé on a business trip to Dublin and London at the end of February beginning of March. We will be in Dublin for three nights and London for three nights. As a photographer I have been interested in seeing the Isle of Skye. We are considering trying to fit it in but not sure if its worth the travel for the limited time. Any thoughts would be appreciated.

We would head to Skye early Sunday morning and want to be in London by Tuesday evening. After a quick search I found that the only morning flights Sunday morning would be to Glascow not Inverness. So we could take a flight to Glascow arriving at 8am then drive to Skye. We would be open to taking a train then renting a car in or near Skye if that is an option. Are there car rentals once we get off the train?

We would have a full day Monday then have to leave Tuesday to head back. Is this worth it?

Thanks for any thoughts and suggestions!

Scotland
Destination Expert
for Scotland
Level Contributor
7,417 posts
28 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Isle of Skye in a day and a half????

It's Glasgow by the way. No C

It depends.

We drive Glasgow to Skye in 5 hours. It's a big island so by the time you get to wherever you're going it could be getting dark, leaving you with only one day.

If that day has rain and low cloud you might not see anything worth taking a photo of. You might be really lucky though. Nobody knows.

cambs
Level Contributor
531 posts
80 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: Isle of Skye in a day and a half????

love Skye, we were there on honeymoon and if you are rarely in the uk then do consider going for it