We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ales and whisky...names and recommendations

Kingston, ONtario
Level Contributor
423 posts
9 reviews
Save Topic
Ales and whisky...names and recommendations

We are calling on your expertise to provide us with the names of local or scottish ales and whisky that you recommend. For ales we prefer darker and whisky well I am just learning. So when I arrive at a pub what should I order so that we do not look completely useless??

Edinburgh, United...
Level Contributor
22,358 posts
Save Reply
1. Re: Ales and whisky...names and recommendations

tripadvisor.com/Travel-g186485-c13996/Scotla…

this link will give you a great insight into whisky( yes I wrote it),how it's made and all the areas of Scotland it comes from,all my favourites are marked with an *.

most bars in Scotland have a good range of beers and you are a likely to see continental lagers as Scottish ales,beers to look out for are

Caledonian Ales

Belhave beers

Haviestoun

Atlas brewery

Arran Ales

Fyne Ales

Orkney ales

Tenents lager

McEwans

all should be widely availabel but some will on be in bottles.

favourites of mine are Caledonian duchars IPA and Harviestoun Bitter&Twisted.

enjoy tasting.

The Stunning...
Destination Expert
for Scottish Highlands, Crete
Level Contributor
21,140 posts
337 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: Ales and whisky...names and recommendations

If you are visiting Inverness be sure to check out The Castle Tavern they always have 3/4 real ales on and always in great condition.

The Stunning...
Destination Expert
Level Contributor
21,140 posts
337 reviews
Save Reply
3. Re: Ales and whisky...names and recommendations

p.s. I had a pint of Tradewinds there last week (brewed by Cairngorm Brewery) whilst sitting in the beer garden, fabulous it was too :-)

Edinburgh, United...