We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Rental car from Waverly station

alexandria, va
Level Contributor
19 posts
58 reviews
Save Topic
Rental car from Waverly station

We are flying in to Edinburgh and spending two days in the city. We plan on picking up a rental car at Waverly station at 7am on Saturday for a 4 day drive around the highlands. Can anyone advise on the drive out of Edinburgh from Waverly station?

We realize that it is best not to drive in Edinburgh, but prefer the ease of picking up the car only a few blocks away from our hotel. I have a lot of experience driving a standard shift and drove around Ireland a few years ago.

There can't be much traffic at 7am on a Saturday morning, right? Is there still a lot of construction work going on in the city center that we should avoid? Any advice would be very welcome. thanks.

Edinburgh, United...
Destination Expert
for Kuching
Level Contributor
2,036 posts
235 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Rental car from Waverly station

Depending on how much luggage you have, an alternative could be to hop on the airport bus and collect a hire car from there. Or take a taxi (would cost around £20) This would save navigating to get out of the city, and the airport is west of the city so the perfect location to then hit the highlands from. However at 7am the streets should not be too busy, but for someone unfamiliar with Edinburgh's many one way streets it could still be a hassle!

Edinburgh, United...
Destination Expert
for Edinburgh
Level Contributor
4,795 posts
245 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: Rental car from Waverly station