We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Lager, Ale, Beer, etc., etc...

Which Edinburgh hotels are on sale?
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
See hotels
Glens Falls, New...
Level Contributor
375 posts
Save Topic
Lager, Ale, Beer, etc., etc...

Okay, I'm a little embarrassed to ask this question, but I have little choice in the matter. When I was a student in Scotland over 20 years ago...as any typical college student, I visited a pub (or local) nearly every day. I ordered MacEwans, Tennants or Skol Lager and occasionally Tartan Special on tap. Thankfully, I never developed the taste for Lager 'n Lime or Currant flavor! Anyway, now as I frequent the various Edinburgh pub websites, I'm finding that the choices are overwhelming. Similar to that of a coffee shop...can I just get a plain old cup of Joe???!! Believe me, I'm going to have lots of fun experimenting the different brews as I wander throughout the Highlands and Outer Hebrides...but, can you suggest a popular, garden-variety lager that I can start off with when I first arrive in your fair city...are the brands I mentioned above still available? I'll take my chances by being called a "wuss", but I just want a half pint of lager that's considered a favorite. Whate is a "heavy" anyway? Hmmm...I'm here at work, it's 9:25 am and I'm craving a beer....not good, or is it!! Thanks for your help!!!

Edinburgh, United...
Level Contributor
366 posts
16 reviews
Save Reply
21. Re: Lager, Ale, Beer, etc., etc...