We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Glens of Angus/Perthshire, etc...

Newtown...
Level Contributor
71 posts
129 reviews
Save Topic
Glens of Angus/Perthshire, etc...

Hello:

I am a photographer and have limited time in Angus/Perthshire/Aberdeenshire/Stirling areas. Trying to hone in on some Glens to photograph. We don't have those in NYC where I am from! I will have a car but I am not a hiker...a good walker sure but not an outdoorsy type...I'm a city girl. Could really use some help here! Will be in Scotland in mid April...

Mentioned in this post
Aberdeenshire
Aberdeenshire
Scotland, UK
Stirling
Stirling
Stirlingshire, UK
Scotland
Scotland
United Kingdom
alyth, scotland
Level Contributor
671 posts
21 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Glens of Angus/Perthshire, etc...

you could try Glen Isla

by car from St. Andrews, it will take you approx. 1 hour cross over into Dundee, follow the signs to Blairgowrie/Alyth & take the road into Glen Isla. First photo opportunity is at Reekie Linn waterfall.

Be careful though and wear sensible shoes. The back on teh road, follow it into the glen to Backwater reservoir

There is parking and a fairly level walk - from there return to the cross roads and follow the main road again

plenty of photo ops along. You will end up on the A93 near Glen shee pass the Ski resort & follow the A93 a little further to get to Devils Elbow.

Alternative is to go to the Angus Glens after crossing into Dundee - follow the same road, but instead of Alyth, go to Kirriemuir. From there follow the road to Glen Clova.

Past the Glen Glova hotel is a single track lane which takes you to te parking area & ranger station. From there are various walks - some need more experience/gear than others. You will find information at the ranger station. Personally I would walk the Corrie Fee route.