We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

weather in mid-March?

Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
77 posts
2 reviews
weather in mid-March?

I'm thinking about spending my spring break there w/ my daughter and am wondering if the weather is bad enough not to go there at that time of year. I've heard it's cold and dreary. I could go in the summer (I'm a teacher) but it's cheaper to fly in March.

Reading/London UK
Level Contributor
955 posts
24 reviews
1. Re: weather in mid-March?

It can be bright and sunny but it can be cold and miserable - we've even had snow in March before now

Even so, don't let something like weather put you off, or spoil your visit

Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
77 posts
2 reviews
2. Re: weather in mid-March?

My daughter lives in Luton so I might be spending most of my time there. Just seeing her would be enough reason to go but nice weather would be a plus. Actually I wouldn't mind seeing snow - it snows here about once every 20 years.

Level Contributor
41 posts
4 reviews
3. Re: weather in mid-March?

As Panda says don't let weather put you off - it is almost impossible to predict. We have just had what I would call a typical Spring day, about 16 degrees C and it's only Janurary, on the other hand we can just as easily have cold, wet & windy in the middle of July. If you are going to Luton and do have decent weather there is some great countryside around Hertfordshire & Bedforshire to explore. And there is nothing better than sitting by the fireside in a country pub on a cold winter's day !

Salem, Oregon
Level Contributor
5,437 posts
38 reviews
4. Re: weather in mid-March?

The best time to go to England is whenever you can. Actually, March is one of the drier months. It's a good time to be in England: snowdrops and daffodils.

Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
37 posts