We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Train from Gatwick to Shepherds Bush

Galway
Level Contributor
50 posts
Train from Gatwick to Shepherds Bush

Hi

I am flying into Gatwick on Friday 2nd Feb, flying out from Gatwick on Mon 5th and had planned to get the Gatwick Express return to Victoria and the tube to Shepherds Bush but now I am thinking of getting the Southern to Shepherds Bush return ticket. There is one change in Clapham.

As it is my 1st time in London

in 30 years I can be considered a complete novice!

Is it difficult to navigate the change? We land in Gatwick at about 1pm and fly out at about 1.30pm

Does a return ticket bought for the Southern line in Gatwick qualify for 2 for 1? (A must!)

Are there any watchouts, tips etc?

Thanks in advance.

7 replies to this topic
Portland, Oregon
Destination Expert
for Air Travel
Level Contributor
34,378 posts
7 reviews
1. Re: Train from Gatwick to Shepherds Bush

Re the Gatwick-Clapham Junction-Shepherd's Bush route.

"Is it difficult to navigate the change?"

It's pretty straightforward. Sit in the back of the Southern train from Gatwick. That will put you close to the lifts/elevator up to the footbridge. The train will arrive at platform 12. Most trains to Shepherd's Bush leave from platform 1 (long walk) but one train per hour uses platform 16.

"Does a return ticket bought for the Southern line in Gatwick qualify for 2 for 1? (A must!)"

NO. Sorry. The tickets for 2 for 1 must be to/from a station designated as a "London Terminal", and neither Shepherd's Bush or Clapham Junction have that designation.

What you could do is buy Southern rail tickets to/from Victoria, get off at Clapham Junction, and then start using Oyster cards or Contactless there. You'll then keep your rail tickets for 2 for 1 use.