We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

ScotRail pass or no? Prebook everything?

London, Canada
3 posts
ScotRail pass or no? Prebook everything?

May 14-21 in Scotland... My 2 adult children and I are traveling from Salisbury on Thursday (May 12) to London , spend a day or so and go to Scotland from there. Planning to go north to Edinburgh (east line), take in Inverness, Oban Stirling Glasgow and land back at Gatwick on the Sunday to head back to Canada.The pass is just over 1200 Canadian and I was thinking that depending on when we travel we can do it cheaper. Is it that much more expensive to buy tickets as we go? Next question is: Is it true that having an American Express card is as good as having an oyster card for traveling around London? I have a Master Card and Amercan Express for the the trip and am thinking that is the best way to pay for everything. Suggestions? thank you for the opportunity to ask questions!

London, United...
Level Contributor
33,941 posts
88 reviews
104 helpful votes
1. Re: ScotRail pass or no? Prebook everything?

Hi,

Amex is probably the least liked and accepted card in the UK. Few small retailers will accept it due to their high charges.

Buying train tickets is complex. Try buying those tickets you need NOW, and see how much dummy bookings cost. EG London to Inverness on your date of travel. Then compare with the cost of a pass.

Restrictive tickets which limit you to a specific train, are usually cheaper.

But you would do well to immerse yourself in www.seat61.com for a couple of hours ..........

There is no train between Inverness and Oban, so I presume you are getting a bus? From Oban, (or Fort William for the VERY scenic train ride across Rannoch Moor), the train goes to Glasgow, where you can change trains for Stirling.

Stirling, United...