We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

abbot pass hut

Which Field hotels are on sale?
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
See hotels
Pompton Plains, New...
5 posts
Save Topic
abbot pass hut

I'm going to be camping in Lake O'hara. Is a day trip to Abbot Pass hut & back doable or biting off more than can be chewed? I'm fit, but not an experienced hiker.

Jasper, Canada
Destination Expert
for Jasper, Jasper National Park, Canadian Rockies
Level Contributor
17,727 posts
107 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: abbot pass hut

Will you be alone, or hiking with a companion?

I think your question was probably as best answered as it can be here on TripAdvisor in your other thread about Abbott Pass - some of us are avid hikers, but Abbot Pass is considered closer to a scramble than a hike. I have been hiking in the Rockies for 32 years and consider myself an experienced hiker, but have never gone to Abbot Pass, so I can't give you a first-hand account.

Have a look at the topo map link I provided to get a sense of the steepness of the route up to the pass. A helmet is recommended, due to the danger of rockfall. (A hiker was killed by falling rocks on the approach to the pass a couple of years ago.)

I would suggest googling up some photos or trip reports of the route, and you might also try www.clubtread.com , which is a hiking, scrambling and climbing forum. Here are some threads about the approach to Abbot Pass from there (you can read without registering):

www.clubtread.com/sforum/topic.asp…

www.clubtread.com/sforum/topic.asp… ... and this one may be the most useful of all, with a trip report and lots of photos:

www.clubtread.com/sforum/topic.asp…

Here is the ACC page for the hut: www.alpineclubofcanada.ca/facility/abbot.html

This page has detailed information on the approach: