We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Need advice on trip planning -Nelson/malborough in 12 days!

Singapore
Level Contributor
105 posts
9 reviews
Save Topic
Need advice on trip planning -Nelson/malborough in 12 days!

Hi, this is my first time to the region & would greatly appreciate any advice on this.

Initially I planned for a slowly & relaxed trip with driving not more that 2 hours a day.CHC/Hanmer springs/Murchison/Moteuka valley/Nelson/Picton/Kaikoura/CHC.

However, after I began reading all the recommendations here to stay at Tasman region, I decided to skip Murchison & Motueka (merely homestays to enjoy nature) & travel straight to Collingwood for 2 nights.

I've checked googlemaps & it shows a 4hr 50 min driving time from Hanmer Springs to Collingwood. Is this accurate? I am, in fact, a little worried about the roads along the way. Are they winding & narrow for long stretches, or up & downhills?

Also, is Collingwood a good place to stay overnight to explore the region? It seems much easier to get accommodations here than other areas during summer. TIA!

Singapore
Level Contributor
105 posts
9 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Need advice on trip planning -Nelson/malborough in 12 days!

Any advice please?

New Zealand
Destination Expert
for South Island
Level Contributor
28,461 posts
85 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: Need advice on trip planning -Nelson/malborough in 12 days!

I doubt I could drive Hanmer to Collingwood in 5 hours and I find most Google drive times impossible. Check your drive times here www.aatravel.co.nz/main/td-calculator.php

and why not stay at least one night in Nelson? It's a great area with lots to explore :)

Singapore
Level Contributor
105 posts
9 reviews
Save Reply
3. Re: Need advice on trip planning -Nelson/malborough in 12 days!