We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Those Taking their Cars to Montreal - Beware

Which Montreal hotels are on sale?
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
See hotels
New York
Level Contributor
12 posts
56 reviews
Save Topic
Those Taking their Cars to Montreal - Beware

Car theft is rampant in Montreal. Be ware of who you hand your keys to; especially the Valet. The Fairmont has a valet service that is not Fairmont owned. It is another company. Note: keep your keys and lock your own car. Trust no one.

Old Montreal
Destination Expert
for Montreal
Level Contributor
5,655 posts
3 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Those Taking their Cars to Montreal - Beware

I've been parking dowtown for 15 years and never had an issue. Perhaps you were unlucky.

Re: Fairmont: my understanding is that most, if not all, hotels don't own their valet service. I stay at the Ritz and the Four Seasons and it's the same thing there...

New York
Level Contributor
12 posts
56 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: Those Taking their Cars to Montreal - Beware

Platipus: Unlucky is not the appropriate word here. How about being set up? I have been parking downtown at the Queen Elizabeth for over 15 years. Perhaps it is the vehicle I had been driving that "they" wanted so badly. Perhaps Metropolitan Parking is comprised of thugs? Although, you would think a Jaguar would have been just as desireable, as that is the vehicle I had been using prior to my experience of theft. May I ask what vehicle you have been parking that has made you so lucky?