We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

NO car rental availability at airport in Sept.?

Which Montreal hotels are on sale?
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
See hotels
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
326 posts
37 reviews
Save Topic
NO car rental availability at airport in Sept.?

I am planning a trip in September and want to fly into Montreal, rent a car stay 3-4 days then travel into Vermont for a few days and return the car in Manchester, NH the following Saturday. I can't find any car available at the Montreal airport for the Saturday we are arriving. This is my first time to Montreal. Is there a shortage of rental cars at the airport? Is there some other way to rent a car?

Montreal
Level Contributor
3,977 posts
57 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: NO car rental availability at airport in Sept.?

This message indicates that you CANNOT rent a car in Canada and leave it in the USA.

SE Ontario
Level Contributor
17,614 posts
14 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: NO car rental availability at airport in Sept.?

Yes ... as josee notes, it's not a lack of rental cars at YUL ... it is the intent to leave the vehicle in the USA. One way cross border rentals are extremely expensive, and in many situations not allowed at all... the vehicle must be returned to Quebec somehow, and that involves expense.

You're better off renting in Quebec for the time you require, returning in Montreal, and then take a bus to Burlington where you can rent another vehicle.

You could try also to rent in YUL and return to Burlington ... the distance is not as great and it "might" be possible. Try Avis and Hertz - they often allow one-ways into the US, altho whether in Quebec, I don't know.

Montreal, Quebec
Level Contributor
323 posts
32 reviews
Save Reply
3. Re: NO car rental availability at airport in Sept.?