We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hamilton Newcomer

Hamilton
2 posts
Save Topic
Hamilton Newcomer

I am a new resident of Hamilton and i am not very familiar with the city. I would be really grateful if someone would help me with a couple of my questions

1. I am planning to live very close Hess Village. How is the public safety around this area?

2. I have heard from many people that there are places that the public should avoid in Hamilton. Could you tell me what these places are? Would you suggest going out after 7pm in Hamilton? If not, which places should be avoided.

Thank you for anyone who responds to this post.

Mentioned in this post
Hamilton
Hamilton
Ontario, Canada
Hamilton, ON
Level Contributor
942 posts
1 review
Save Reply
1. Re: Hamilton Newcomer

Basically, Hamilton is like any other city. It has it's upper class areas, and it's industrialized centres.

Towards the factories/steel area on the waterfront, of course it's not going to be as attractive looking.

Living near Hess village, an area of town with just bars...well what kind of people do you think are going to visit those areas?

I mean, look around. If it looks unsafe, then it probably is. But for the most part, things are ok.

General rule of thumb, on the mountain = the nicest, close to the mountain = good, then the farther towards the steel centre you get the more seedy it can become.

Just look around, if the area looks nice, I am sure you'll be fine.

Mentioned in this post
Hamilton
Hamilton
Ontario, Canada
Hamilton
2 posts
Save Reply
2. Re: Hamilton Newcomer

Thanks for your reply djcrazychris. I haven't heard too many good things about the downtown Hamilton and wondered why it was so? I guess it depends on how people view the city. Some people think downtown Toronto is pretty unsafe, but i would beg to differ.