We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

IEC Working holiday visa

London, United...
Level Contributor
11 posts
21 reviews
Save Topic
IEC Working holiday visa

Hi,

Just wondering if anyone has done this before and what their experience was?

I was looking to do it however for me I was looking more to gain a office job where I can learn more skills over doing bar/resort work etc.

What are the chances id find this? I have 5 years experience and a degree in this environment.

6 replies to this topic
Jasper, Canada
Destination Expert
for Jasper, Jasper National Park, Canadian Rockies
Level Contributor
21,540 posts
126 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: IEC Working holiday visa

Thousands of people work here in Canada on IEC visas every year. The ones I have met seem to really enjoy it, as has my own adult child who has done similar working holiday visas in both New Zealand and Australia.

Generally the jobs that most wind up in are hospitality and tourism, or other fairly menial, generally minimum wage (or slightly above) jobs.... jobs where there is generally a steady turn-over, and which don't require an employer to invest much in training the employee. It's just not worth their while, since the IEC worker will only be working for them for a few months, or possibly a year. Some of these jobs are in an office environment (for example, hotels, tour companies, car rental agencies etc.)