We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

good places to swim in Edmonton ?!

2 posts
Save Topic
good places to swim in Edmonton ?!

I'm new to Edmonton and wondering if anyone could reccomend any good beaches or lakes for swimming this summer ? I've tried looking it up on google but I haven't found any reviews for this summer (2014). Any input will be awesome ! :)

Calgary, Canada
Destination Expert
for Canadian Rockies
Level Contributor
7,173 posts
3 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: good places to swim in Edmonton ?!

There are no natural beaches or lakes within the city limits. You'd have to drive out to some place like Elk Island National Park for swimming. There are other locations, though some have blue-green algae warnings at the moment.

In the city, your options are the city pools, both indoor and outdoor.

Mentioned in this post
Elk Island National Park
Elk Island National Park
458 Reviews
Edmonton, Canada
Edmonton, Canada
Destination Expert
for Edmonton, Yellowknife
Level Contributor
1,365 posts
36 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: good places to swim in Edmonton ?!

If you are a Summerside resident there is a beach there, but you need to be a resident.

But if you are willing to drive at least 30 mins to 45 mins, there are a few in the area, and if there is a place to swim in Elk Island than I've learnt something new!

There is Miquelon Lake, Pigeon Lake (Ma-me-o Beach), Wabamun, Alberta Beach and Wizard lake (Jubilee) in the area, all within an hour's drive. Head early. Ma-me-o has a small beach, Alberta Beach has a nice beach but very shallow, good for kids. Haven't tried Wizard yet, but love their campsites. Miquelon is very nice and a short drive from the southside along highway 14.

Wabamun is nice, small swimming area, but nice beach and grassy park area.

Mentioned in this post
Ma-Me-O Beach