We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

only 1 day at BANFF

Which Banff hotels are on sale?
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
See hotels
NY
Level Contributor
15 posts
Save Topic
only 1 day at BANFF

Hello...dilemma...I'm flying in on Edmonton and planning on a one day trip to Banff. I'm only a beginner in photography but I heard the best place to take scenic pictures are up in the Canadian Rockies. Due to the limited amount of days (or day) in BANFF, can someone suggest a few places to visit for these great scenice views? Thanks!!

Calgary, Alberta...
Level Contributor
3,855 posts
3 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: only 1 day at BANFF

Hello zoo54924,

I don't know if you're aware that Jasper is between 3.5 hours and 4 hours west of Edmonton, and Banff is between 4.5 hours and 5 hours southwest of Edmonton.

I've been told that, if you start early in the morning, you actually can drive a circuit that goes Edmonton - Jasper - Lake Louise - Banff - Cochrane - Airdrie - Red Deer - Edmonton.

That circuit would cover 675 miles, and it would take 12 hours to drive if you did not stop. However, you no doubt would want to stop a few times, say at Jasper townsite, the Columbia Icefields, the lake of Lake Louise (3 miles from the village of Lake Louise), Banff townsite, and finally perhaps for a snack in Red Deer. I think the stops would add up to about 4 hours. So you'd be looking at 16 hours altogether. If you left Edmonton at 6.30 a.m., you'd get back at 10.30 p.m.

But that would allow little time for photography.

Banff, Canada
Destination Expert
for Banff, Banff National Park
Level Contributor
6,044 posts
93 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: only 1 day at BANFF

Hi there:

The thought of doing a one-day trip to Banff from Edmonton and return is (IMO) horrifying!