We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Best restaurants-new and old

In cooperation with: Visit Mexico
providence
Level Contributor
35 posts
4 reviews
Save Topic
Best restaurants-new and old

We have not been to Tulum since 2011. What are the new restaurants that are a must? And what are everyone's local favorites? We are both foodies(especially me since I am a chef) but have a passion for local foods as well. After all local is the best wherever you go.

New Jersey
Destination Expert
for Tulum
Level Contributor
5,907 posts
33 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Best restaurants-new and old

Best veteran restaurant that seems to actually get better over time: Zamas' Que Fresco. I can't remember the last not-great meal I've had there, it's been years since I said "meh" after a meal there. The last five or six in a row have been really great. The music can't be beat, either.

Have you spent much time on the jungle side of the beach road? In the past year there have been quite a few strong openings there, but El Tabano is still a favorite. I've had two good meals at Hartwood and three at La Onda, looking forward to trying Casa Jaguar (a bit north of Hartwood).

I plan on spending a bit more time in the pueblo on my next trip--have heard so many reports of great new places opening up there! Looking forward to seeing what other folks have to add.

Big D
Destination Expert
for Tulum, Dallas
Level Contributor
13,731 posts
26 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: Best restaurants-new and old

I agree that Zamas is getting better. We also like Casa Violeta for dinner. El Tabano serves the same menu lunch and dinner - really good indigenious techniques. I like La Luna when I want a salad or sandwich.

Calgary
Level Contributor
2,001 posts
22 reviews
Save Reply
3. Re: Best restaurants-new and old