We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mayan Archaeological Sites

In cooperation with: Visit Mexico
Ypsilanti, Michigan
Level Contributor
132 posts
30 reviews
Save Topic
Mayan Archaeological Sites

I'm a bit of an amateur Mayan archaeologist, and I've recently been reading a number of academic papers on archaeological digs in Cozumel (mostly Freidel and Sabloff).

I've concluded there are ~30-40 known sites on the island.

I've been to the big/well known ones - San Gervasio (plan on going back), El Cedral, El Caracol @ Punta Sur

My question is - of the other sites on the island, are any accessible?

Is there currently any way to get to El Castillo? Boat tour?

Are any of the other east side sites north of the Transversal Rd. within walking distance of Mezcalito's?

Anyone have GPS coordinates for any of the sites along the east coast?

Basically, I'm looking for a list of anything accessible outside what I've already seen.

Thanks much everyone.

Mentioned in this post
Mayan Palace at Vidanta Riviera Maya
Mayan Palace at Vidanta...
4,366 Reviews
Playa Paraiso, Mexico
Cozumel
Cozumel
Quintana Roo, Mexico
El Cedral
El Cedral
301 Reviews
Cozumel, Mexico
El Caracol
El Caracol
31 Reviews
Cozumel, Mexico
cozumel
Level Contributor
173 posts
23 reviews
Save Reply
11. Re: Mayan Archaeological Sites

you might want to check out ExBalam by Valldolid next time. Well worth the visit. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ek'_Balam

Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
17 posts
267 reviews
Save Reply
12. Re: Mayan Archaeological Sites