We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Diving on a cheap budget

In cooperation with: Visit Mexico
Montreal
2 posts
Save Topic
Diving on a cheap budget

Hi,

I planned to go to Cozumel next March to see the coral reef but as a student my resources are quite limited. What will be the best package for me? Should I get one of those hotels+diving deal and take care of the airfare separately? Or should I just land on San Miguel and improvise from there ? How hard will it be to find accomodations once in San Miguel? Are they alternatives to big resorts such as motels? Would they be cheaper? Your advice are appreciated.

BTW, camping on the city park is a valid option for me.

Mentioned in this post
San Miguel
San Miguel
396 Reviews
Cozumel, Mexico
Cozumel, Mexico
Level Contributor
5,545 posts
13 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Diving on a cheap budget

If you dont mind accomodation quality, then I suggest you arrange airfare only, and head directly to the town square.

There are many local and inexpensive hotels if your like Backpacking it. If you book in advance, more than likley you are paying commision fees up front to the booking agencies, so it tends to be a little higher. Just remember that is still the high season, and spring break time in March. We dont get a lot of it though, that is mostly reserved for Cancun. You can e-mail me for more info.

Dankom@casitademaya.com

Mentioned in this post
Cancun
Cancun
Quintana Roo, Mexico
Cozumel Mexico
Level Contributor
142 posts
Save Reply
2. Re: Diving on a cheap budget

Hola,

Spend less on accomodations and don't go the cheap route for diving. Your life is too valuable!!!

I know of places downtown for $25 a night, 2 tank diving will run anywhere from 50-70 usd. Maybe less for more dives.

Do you have your own equipment?