We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

U.S. Student Wanting to Study Abroad

In cooperation with: Visit Mexico
Kansas City, KS
Level Contributor
156 posts
Save Topic
U.S. Student Wanting to Study Abroad

I am trying to decide where to study in the Spring of 2007. I don't even know where to begin. Anywhere in Spain, Central America, South America, and Puerto Rico are all options. It will be my junior year of college, and I am majoring in Business and Spanish. I'm looking for a place to experience the Spanish language and culture. I have been taking Spanish for 6 1/2 years now. Any suggestions of cities or schools would be great. Muchas gracias!

Mentioned in this post
Puerto Rico
Puerto Rico
Caribbean
Clearwater, Florida
Level Contributor
7,553 posts
83 reviews
Save Reply
21. Re: U.S. Student Wanting to Study Abroad

GoBuckeyes - I’ve traveled to Veracruz many times, and my impression of the English-language skills of people I’ve met and observed there is different than yours. I find the skills of people in Veracruz less than what I see in Mexico City. Because of its size and broader spectrum of people living there, I think you’ll find more speakers of English in Mexico City than many other places in the country. But maybe we’re comparing apples to oranges by not referring to interactions with similar groups of people when we talk about these particular cities.