We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mexico City Itinerary Advise

In cooperation with: Visit Mexico
Potomac, Maryland
Level Contributor
5 posts
3 reviews
Mexico City Itinerary Advise

My wife and i are leaving for two weeks in Mexico at the end of the month to celebrate our 30th anniversary (that gives you an idea of our age).

We are spending 1 week in Mexico City and environs and I would appreciate comments on our proposed schedule.

We arrive late on a Wednesday and will travel directly to our hotel to check in. We are staying at Nima Local House in La Roma.

On Thursday we plan to start the day at Chapultepec Park. We definitely want to tour the Museo Nacional de Antropologia and have 3:30 reservations for a tour of Casa Luis Barragan (I'm an architect). The other possibilities are tour either the Museo Tamayo Arte Contemporaneo or the Castillo de Chapultepec. Or just tour La Condessa. We would enjoy suggestions for local art galleries or authentic crafts. Then find a place for dinner either in La Condessa or Polanco.

For Friday we are taking an AM food tour with Sabores Mexico - either La Roma or Historical Center. We want to spend the rest of the afternoon exploring the Historical Center (this is on our Sunday list also).

On Saturday we are getting tickets for the Frida Kohlo Museum, want to also see the Museo Anahuacalli and the Bazaar del Sabado. One question is what time to get tickets to the Frida museum for. I keep seeing that going early means much shorter lines but I also hear that we should get the the Bazaar del Sabado early. Which to do first? Thought we would spend time exploring the San Angel neighborhood. Our hotel suggested we eat at the San Angel Inn. Any other suggestion of places to see or eat in this area?