We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Best way to get from Puerto Vallarta to Sayulita

In cooperation with: Visit Mexico
Level Contributor
18 posts
3 reviews
Best way to get from Puerto Vallarta to Sayulita

Hello, I just got to PV today, and I have been thinking about possible going to Sayulita one morning and returning later in the afternoon. I am a female solo traveler and this is my first time in Mexico.

I've read a lot of different things on this but most of them seemed to be from almost 7 years ago so I'm worried things have changed - is it easier to just pay for a cab or uber? or where can I get a bus and how much is he fare usually(8 pesos?)?

I am staying in the downtown area close to the malecon, & I can't seem to find much information on buses (googlemaps doesn't help at all in that regard here)

Thanks in advance!

19 replies to this topic
Puerto Vallarta...
Level Contributor
1,499 posts
1. Re: Best way to get from Puerto Vallarta to Sayulita

You can take the bus. I'm going to let someone who has actually done it give you details about that. We have a car here.

I just checked my Uber app. Taking an Uber there would cost you 560 pesos. It was noted that the fares were higher at this time due to increased demand. The fare to return was 460.

You could also take a taxi. The fare will be at least 10% more than Uber.

It all depends on what you're comfortable with. One is as safe as another. It will be quicker to travel by Uber or taxi. It is a beautiful drive.

Ont.Canada
Level Contributor
4,428 posts
40 reviews
2. Re: Best way to get from Puerto Vallarta to Sayulita

You would take any bus going towards Walmart from Centro & get off at Walmart 7.5 p.