We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Water Temperature? -- Snorkeling?

In cooperation with: Visit Mexico
Berkeley, CA
Level Contributor
146 posts
Save Topic
Water Temperature? -- Snorkeling?

Hi -- We'd like to spend a lot of time in the water. It looks like Acapulco has much warmer ocean temp than our other choice, Mazatlan. Is this true? (I'm talking about Jan 23-30.

Is Acapulco a real good place for snorkeling?

Mickey

Bryn Mawr...
Level Contributor
1,668 posts
88 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Water Temperature? -- Snorkeling?

I know your water will be warm, As for snorkeling? I am not an expert but do not think it is one of the best places for it. I am sure one of the local experts can give you the dope on that.

Level Contributor
7,972 posts
1 review
Save Reply
2. Re: Water Temperature? -- Snorkeling?

while acapulco is not one of the best places in mexico for snorkeling it is still a heck of a lot better than in mazatlan........the water is warm anywhere between 74 to 78 degrees best place to go is roquetta island...........have a great time...........any other questions feel free to ask and welcome to the acapulco forum.......zzaa

Toronto
Level Contributor
294 posts
7 reviews
Save Reply
3. Re: Water Temperature? -- Snorkeling?

Two years ago when I was in Acapulco in the middle of January the water temp was listed on the weather chanel as 28c or about 84f degrees.

Connecticut
Level Contributor
9,401 posts
1 review
Save Reply
4. Re: Water Temperature? -- Snorkeling?

CoolestBreeze is right on the money regarding water-temps (although I'm sure that it can vary by a few degrees from one pinpoint-location to another ... and, of course, by time-of-day).