We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

ijuana Airport to San Ysidro or SD

In cooperation with: Visit Mexico
Arcadia, California
11 posts
Save Topic
ijuana Airport to San Ysidro or SD

This is my first time flying in and out of TJ. Two part question:

1) I'm getting a ride from LA to TJ airport. Do I need to get any kind of stamp at the border or is this all taken care of at the airport? I will be flying to Morelia from TJ and back.

2) Returning on Sunday at 8AM. What is the best and cost-effective way for me to get back on US soil? I have someone that is willing to pick me up as long as they don't have to drive in Mexico.

Thanks in advance.

tucson az
Destination Expert
for Tucson, Arizona, Northern Mexico
Level Contributor
16,028 posts
78 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: ijuana Airport to San Ysidro or SD

Your best bet for identification purposes is a passport, alternative is official photo ID plus birth certificate. Tijuana and down past Ensenada is a "free zone." You will not be asked for ID going into Mexico, and your passport will not be stamped. At the airport, you are flying within Mexico and likely only to be asked for identification. The safest way back to the US when you return is by taxi from the airport to the border, and walk across and meet your friend who is picking you up.

--
Level Contributor
3,722 posts
2 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: ijuana Airport to San Ysidro or SD

usczeus writes>>....1) I'm getting a ride from LA to TJ airport. Do I need to get any kind of stamp at the border or is this all taken care of at the airport? I will be flying to Morelia from TJ and back.

....<<

bobear43 writes>>....You will not be asked for ID going into Mexico, and your passport will not be stamped. At the airport, you are flying within Mexico and likely only to be asked for identification....<<