We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Volunteer Opportunities?

Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
48 posts
Save Topic
Volunteer Opportunities?

My husband and I will be on the island for a luxurious 10 days this November, and I was thinking that it might be a good chance for us to give back to the place we love so much. We can easily give up one day of soaking in the sun (and the Kaliks) to do something for the benefit of others. While we could probably informally arrange something once we get there, I thought it would be better to try to organize something in advance. Anyone have any ideas on who we should contact? I'm a lawyer by trade, but we both love kids and we're both pretty handy, so we aren't too particular on the activity itself. Any help is appreciated!

Nassau, New...
Level Contributor
4,694 posts
55 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Volunteer Opportunities?

Whereabouts will you be staying? One of hte good organizations on the island is the Bahamas Methodist Habitat in James Cistern -- just north of Governors Harbour. Abraham McIntyre and others do good work in the local community and welcome volunteers. You do not have to be Methodist to participate. Their website is below:

http://www.methodisthabitat.org/

And any of the local primary schools would be delighted to have you come in a read story or talkw ith the children. The Governors Harbour Haynes Library offers a story hour to the kids and I am sure guest readers would also be welcomed.

Philadelphia
Level Contributor
164 posts
23 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: Volunteer Opportunities?