We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Coconut Palms Beach House?

Indiana
Level Contributor
9 posts
2 reviews
Save Topic
Coconut Palms Beach House?

I am looking very closely at this house for a family vacation rental, but I've never done anything like this before, and want to take whatever precautions a person needs to before sending a stranger a lot of money.

Has anyone here stayed there before? And if you haven't stayed there exactly, what type of things should you take into consideration when renting over the internet?

Ohio
Level Contributor
7 posts
7 reviews
Save Reply
11. Re: Coconut Palms Beach House?

Yes Andros is a one of a kind place. How was the house rental and managing a vacation from there? I am interested in staying there. Thanks

Virginia
Level Contributor
51 posts
56 reviews
Save Reply
12. Re: Coconut Palms Beach House?

As the owner of an Andros home, I have to say that I always suggest that fist-time visitors who do not have a lot of experience with the less developed Bahamian out islands stay at a hotel rather than renting a house. Here's why: Andros has almost no services. If something goes wrong, you are in a pickle. You need to have trans to the store, and know what day the boat comes in for food as basic as milk and bread. If the propane is out you have no stove. There is almost no appliance repair. If the power goes out you will be in the dark. It is only in the last eyar or two that anyone is handling "real estate" and rentals as we think of them here in the States. There is a reason no one did it much before.

I always recommend Small Hope Bay Lodge. It is family owned and operated, has been there forever, is very laid back and has a real island feel on its own beautiful island beach.