We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Quick Trip Report

Raleigh, North...
Level Contributor
583 posts
65 reviews
Save Topic
Quick Trip Report

Thanks to all who answered my questions. Here is a very quick report of our STT time:

Used the CA ferry from St. J and would recommend this to anyone making the transition and staying at the Frenchman's Reef/ Morningstar property. Its a bit more expensive than Red Hook, but more convenient.

Our stay at the Marriott was a mixed bag- we liked the look of the place(s) and enjoyed being beachfront for our stay ( Morningside) but found the staff almost brusque, the check-in process confusing and not well organized, and the housekeeping to be suspect.

The water sport staff was very nice, and the non-Marriott employees ( at the jewelry shops and the Sand Bar and Havana Blue) were lovely.

Its an easy beach to manage- pretty wide and not steep for water entry. The sand is soft and though there is some grass accumulation at the ends and a few places where the rocks gather all in all its great for relaxing on a float or just standing around.

Morningstar seems to cater more to adults, and families seem to gravitate to the main facility, but both have their share of large "convention groups".

We didn't spend as much time exploring this island as we did St. J, but we found CA an interesting place to walk around and offering plenty of dining options...but jewelry shops are everywhere and the hands down winner for sheer numbers.

The detractor for town was the number of hawkers who try to engage you to shop in "their" stores...they are fairly persistent, but not intimidating like the ones we experienced in Mexico.

Had dinners at Havana Blue and Room With a View, enjoyed both and felt "Room" to be the better value; lunches at Gladys' which was wonderful and the Marriott Beach Bar which was marginal due to indifferent service and just average food. Only breakfast was again at the beach bar and again a disappointing experience.

Nice big room with GREAT balcony to enjoy, but thin walls and "exuberant" neighbors made sleeping a little tough. Not sure that the housekeepers were trying too hard as trash that was on the stair when we arrived was still there when we left and the balcony wasn't swept, but nothing stood out as problematic.

Would probably not choose this place again, but wouldn't deter others who think they'd like to try it.

St Thomas, VI
Destination Expert
for St. Thomas
Level Contributor
7,379 posts
56 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Quick Trip Report

Thanks for posting. Did you do any watersports from the hotel? Tours? I've been thinking about their clear kayak tour.

St Thomas
Destination Expert
for St. Thomas
Level Contributor
14,037 posts
18 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: Quick Trip Report

It sounds as though you had a nice time but I'm assuming you didn't rent a car? Next time around (and hopefully there'll be a next time!) do rent a vehicle for at least part of your visit so you can see much more of the island for a much more enhanced perspective!

Raleigh, North...
Level Contributor
583 posts
65 reviews
Save Reply
3. Re: Quick Trip Report

We didn't take the kayak tour, but folks we met did and loved it.

No, we didn't rent a car, but we had not intended to make STT the focus of this trip and didn't feel like we needed one to spend time in town. This was primarily a stop-over for us to be near the airport; the main part of the trip was spent on St J. I agree that having your own transport is a bonus when on the islands, and we would surely do that on return.

4. Re: Quick Trip Report

-:- Message from TripAdvisor staff -:-

This topic has been closed to new posts due to inactivity. We hope you'll join the conversation by posting to an open topic or starting a new one.

To review the TripAdvisor Forums Posting Guidelines, please follow this link: http://www.tripadvisor.com/pages/forums_posting_guidelines.html

We remove posts that do not follow our posting guidelines, and we reserve the right to remove any post for any reason.

Removed on: 5:15 am, September 13, 2013