We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Trip insurance

Bayville, New York
Level Contributor
279 posts
1 review
Save Topic
Trip insurance

We are visiting Provo in October. I am considering buying trip insurance, just in case. I am a real optomist - but I figure better safe that sorry! Does anyone have any advice on how to get trip insurance and the approximate cost?

Just a little background - I don't use a travel agent. I've never used trip insurance before, don't know where to start and I don't want to get ripped off ... Thank you for any replies. - Jen

new york
Level Contributor
1,871 posts
19 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Trip insurance

I always get the travel insurance. It's usually not much more then $100. We use Travel Guard and find its easy to use you can buy it online, there many different options. Just make sure it has emergency medical travel coverage. It's peace of mind you hope its the only $100 bucks you waste while on vacation. We has friends who were on the last leg of a cruise when the husband had a stroke, it would have cost more then $30,000 to bring him home without the insurance. I never use a travel agent either, to many good deals to be had without.. Have a great trip!!

Bayville, New York
Level Contributor
279 posts
1 review
Save Reply
2. Re: Trip insurance

Snorkling - Thank you for the excellent reply - exactly the info I was looking for. I'll check it out. =)

Maryland
Destination Expert
for Beach Vacations
Level Contributor
1,732 posts
25 reviews
Save Reply
3. Re: Trip insurance

Beachbumjen.

Insuremytrip.com is a good website for on-line comparisons of travel insurance features and prices. You can purchase on-line there.