We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Disgusting and destructive... S/Y Zerlina.

Grenada
Level Contributor
47 posts
25 reviews
Save Topic
Disgusting and destructive... S/Y Zerlina.

We were just returning from a beautiful dive on the pristine reef around Bequia today when we happened to pass Moonhole Bay. I immediately noticed that a white catamaran 'S/Y Zerlina' was anchored directly onto the reef fringing this bay.

I make my living on Bequia as a Dive Instructor and cannot condone ignorant sailors anchoring on our reefs.

I asked our boat captain to drive a little closer, whereby we noticed that there were divers in the water close to the yacht. We also noticed that whoever was on board was emptying the heads and we could clearly see effluent flowing out of the boat and into the shallow water above the reef.

Both anchoring on the fragile reef system AND pumping out poo really does NOT protect our reef but destroy it. As divers we need to respect the reef otherwise everyone will lose out in the long term.

I have attached some photos of these not-so-lovely water users and also a photo I took yesterday in Moonhole Bay of a beautiful Longsnout Seahorse (right underneath where the boat was anchored today).

We are diving at Moonhole Bay this afternoon so I will be very interested to see what state the reef is in after 'S/Y Zerlina' has removed their anchor.

New Orleans...
Level Contributor
213 posts
3 reviews
Save Reply
11. Re: Disgusting and destructive... S/Y Zerlina.

A wind & sea catamaran also fouled it's anchor in Moonhole bight 2 days ago. We wrote them & supplied photos. It makes no sense to bring a boatload of snorkel era into a precious area, while dropping anchor right on coral reefs. Stupid & greedy.

Grenada
Level Contributor
47 posts
25 reviews
Save Reply