We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Tortola and crime?

massapequa, ny
Level Contributor
208 posts
12 reviews
Save Topic
Tortola and crime?

I have been traveling to Tortola for about 10 years. Always felt comfortable and enjoyed driving after dark (about 8-9pm) from Cane Garden Bay to Long Bay Resort area. Was reading some recent posts on travel talk website about increased crime. Is it still safe to drive early evening?

Morristown, New...
Level Contributor
1,027 posts
12 reviews
Save Reply
11. Re: Tortola and crime?

Tortola is quite safe, with the exception of RoadTown and parts of East End late in the evening. Since there is really nothing to be in those areas for at that time of night, I wouldn't worry. I consider Apple Bay thru CGB to be the safest place you can be, unless you party too hard at Bombas.

brooklyn, ny
Level Contributor
438 posts
10 reviews
Save Reply
12. Re: Tortola and crime?

You can ask my friend, Peter, about partying too hard. He didn't even make it to Bomba's. Took a shower and passed out in the living room at the villa. Oops!

San Francisco...
Level Contributor
9 posts
10 reviews
Save Reply
13. Re: Tortola and crime?

I used to live there in '97 and didn't want to believe what I was hearing about the crime getting worse & the presence of gangs, but it's true. Things are getting worse, I discovered in my last visit this June. For one thing, there are guns now, which we never heard about before. I asked a variety of people - yachties, business owners, repeat tourists, & especially locals - about different stories I had heard while I was there & they all agreed there is a crime & drug contingent where before there was none. I was hoping the locals were going to tell me it was all rumors, but they didn't. Also they believe there are a lot of cops that are " in on it".