We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Voltage and laptop

Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
113 posts
30 reviews
Save Topic
Voltage and laptop

I'm arriving to St. Maarten for the first time later this month from Ireland. We're staying in Simpson Bay. I would like to bring my laptop to stay in touch with family and listen to music (also bringing speakers).

Will I be able to use my laptop there and which transformer or adaptor will I need. I'm a total idiot when it comes to voltage and different plugs!

Advice?

Staten Island, New...
Level Contributor
14,729 posts
13 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Voltage and laptop

I'm no expert either. I suggest you visit your local electronics store for accurate information. You will need a power converter and adaptor plug to accommodate the following:

The power used on Dutch Sint Maarten is the same as is used in the USA.

The power used in French St. Martin is the same as is used in France.

San Miguel de...
Level Contributor
827 posts
67 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: Voltage and laptop

You don't need anything on the Dutch side. Same as US. Same voltage and plugs. All you need on the Frech side is a plug adapter. The power supply for the laptop automatically detects the voltage and makes the necessay adjustments.

Cupecoy Bay, St...
Level Contributor
10,540 posts
19 reviews
Save Reply
3. Re: Voltage and laptop

G & J - they're not coming from the US.

Anahita - take Bobcats advise.

When I travel to the UK, the only thing I need is a plug adapter for my laptop. I'm guessing you would need the same (but an adapter for US type outlets).

San Miguel de...
Level Contributor
827 posts
67 reviews
Save Reply
4. Re: Voltage and laptop