We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Trip Report Vieques Food, Booze, and Shopping 4/17-4/22

Minneapolis...
Level Contributor
113 posts
7 reviews
Save Topic
Trip Report Vieques Food, Booze, and Shopping 4/17-4/22

We were traveling as a group of 5 of us...was suppose to be 6 but me and my bf broke up days before the trip. Note: 2 of the people in the group are pretty obsessed with eating seafood and vacation drinking. We are all kind of foodies but also a bit cheap ($15 an entree for dinner would be considered quite reasonable to us). We stayed in Isabella in a rental house (with a full kitchen).

Anywhoo..this is my take on what we ate and my tips (I am no expert and this was our first time on the island so take it for what it is..an opinion and not a seasoned one at that).

Conuco-Isabella: We adored Conuco. We ate here on our first night and didn't know how amazing it was until we compared the other places we ate. It is in Isabella and right near the in town Mercado Morales (their is one a bit more towards the edge of Isabella as well) and Buen Provecho. I had a lovely light and savory sweet potato soup and a light salad with beautiful mixed greens. My Dad had chicken thighs that he couldn't talk enough about how good they were. My mom had a dish that had an amazing sherry cream sauce (lick the bowl clean sorta situation) as did my Brothers GF, my brother had some sort of mofongo I think. Everyone was super happy with their meal!! The only downside was the service was quiet slow...but being our first night we were happily on vacation and did not mind. It cost roughly $30-40 per person for a entree and at least one drink (maybe more drinks). They had good drinks too. We wished we had gone back here.