We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Tips for bargaining for souvenirs in Jamaica??

los angeles...
Level Contributor
19 posts
Save Topic
Tips for bargaining for souvenirs in Jamaica??

Now that you have all given me some great ideas for what to buy for souvenirs, could you give me some suggestions on how to bargain in Jamaica? I'm a first time visitor and I read that the vendors kind of expect you to bargain with them. I'm afraid I'm not very good at that. How do I do it? Offer 25% less, 50% less? Also, I suppose you have to be able to walk away and act like you don't really want the item anyway? Thanks in advance for any tips!!

Brampton, ON
Level Contributor
1,344 posts
45 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Tips for bargaining for souvenirs in Jamaica??

I'd say pick a (reasonable) price that you want to pay for an item and offer that. Depending on what it is, I sometimes offer half the price and you end up meeting somewhere in between. Usually I know in my head what I want to pay for something and if they don't want to give it to me for that, I leave. There are a million other places where you can find the same thing. As an example, I raelly wanted a sweatshirt that says Jamaica on it (something I could wear all winter here). I found some that were like 60$, no way did I want to pay that (they werent the best quality). Found the same thign somewhere else for 40, got it for 20. People want to make money and no you can go somewhere else so are usually good about bartering.

Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
19,497 posts
1 review
Save Reply
2. Re: Tips for bargaining for souvenirs in Jamaica??